Barry Gerard Prendergast

Welcome to my Blog!

Random Student feedback to my teaching Sociology

Since taking Sociology with Professor Prendergast, I have now decided on my major—it’s going to be Sociology! I was unsure before but now am sure I want learn everything about Sociology as it seems such an interesting subject, and so relatable to everyday life.

Great professor. Loved the class. I took this class for the Winter term and he was very helpful and tried to make everything very understandable. He showed movies to help us understand Sociology in an enjoyable fashion. I highly recommend him.

Professor Prendergast is a very outgoing, fun, and intellectual teacher. For a short guy, he has a tall personality, meaning that he will help any student at any time and would take the time out of his, so that the students would benefit. It’s a win, win situation for the students. I’ve taken two of his classes already and plan on taking more by him.

Professor Prendergast: Fun, friendly, outgoing, concerned. Innovative with a variety of teaching styles. He attempted to allow the class resemble a Socratic style education with many discussion prodding techniques.

Prof. Prendergast is very helpful, friendly and will make sure you learn the material without being bored out of your mind. If you ever have a question or need something, he’s happy to give you some of his time and is open to hearing feedback about the class. Your grade will directly reflect what you put into the class. Highly recommended!

I have learned a whole lot about cultures, sub-cultures, socialization processes and status. I knew these before but now I really know what they mean. I’m a visual person, so seeing these terms I action has been very helpful.

Since taking this Sociology class with Professor Prendergast, I have learned many new things. Learning the sociological perspectives have been very helpful and I can’t help but now apply these to my own personal experiences in life—especially watching TV ads and shows, I can see how the sociological perspectives highlight the different types of behaviors.

Since I learned about ethnocentrism in class, I notice it everywhere I go now. It has really opened my eyes and helped me not to judge other people harshly. I would like to learn more on juts about everything through Sociology.

I never realized how the world we live in is so set up in so many different ways. The new perspectives I’ve learned in Sociology have helped me view our society in different ways too. I’ve also learned to appreciate the complexities and problems within society more. I would like to learn more about gender inequalities and how these may affect children. I’m also interested in the effect of media in today’s society and would like to take a class on that topic (if you are going to teach it).

This class has made me view my world differently. I think much more about how society is made up of different “groups” and I am more aware of the groups that I belong to. It is interesting to see how media, culture and social structure all greatly affect our lives in so many different ways.

Being in this class has taught me to look at things in a deeper way, and to try to understand how certain groups of people have arrived at where they are at today—how culture, socialization and social structure affect many of our values, beliefs and goals in life.

I really liked learning about Coolley’s “looking-glass self”. It is such an interesting and useful concept. There’s something quite philosophical about it. I can see how it can apply to many different individual and group situations and identities.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

